Search This Blog

Tuesday, 10 May 2016

EXCERPT TOUR & #GIVEAWAY - Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel

GENRE

YA Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
               

BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

Add to Goodreads


“And after we’ve gone through all that, assuming we won’t have been interrupted by your mom or boyfriend, I’ll ask you to bend the spoon again, and you’ll do it because you’ll know that someone finally understands you, and that your future is going to be very different from now on than how you had ever imagined it to be.”

I took the spoon out and handed it to him. He straightened it between both hands, and handed it back to me. “Name’s Indigo,” he said.

“Mine’s Callie,” I said, and then, when he smiled in response, I added, “but you probably already know that.”

He nodded, and I quickly glanced over at Charlie and Mom, who were still in a passionate discussion about college.

“The things you see in your mind—they’re real,” Indigo said. “The fact that you can see them makes you a target, and if the people you love know the truth about what you can do”—he nodded toward Mom and Charlie—“they become targets too.”

I swallowed hard. “Targets?”

Indigo nodded. “You know what I’m talking about.”

That was just it: I did know what he was talking about. I had seen people in my mind dying in the most horrible ways. Somehow I knew that those people were targets, but of whom or why, I had no idea.

Around us, the room buzzed with activity. Kids ran around, spilling sodas out of their plastic Stanford cups, and parents yelled vague instructions to them while carrying on conversations about left-wing politics. In the midst of it all, we sat on the floor, completely unnoticed by the partygoers.

I first checked to make sure Charlie and Mom weren’t watching, and then I held the spoon out in front of me. In the curved metal surface, I could see two faces side by side: my confused face and Indigo’s smile. When the spoon bent again, his smile got bigger.

“Focus that same energy somewhere else,” he said. “Test it.”

At the time, I didn’t know exactly why I was doing what he told me to do, but it was as if I couldn’t do anything else—like this moment had been waiting for me all these years, and I just had to live it. When I focused on a metal light switch across the room, I felt this intense confidence, this feeling that my life was mine alone, and that I could go anywhere and do anything with it. As this feeling surged through me, I felt heat sliding down my arm into my fingertips.

“Test your power,” Indigo said.

It was like the word “power” flipped some switch inside me. I lost focus, and my gaze slid a few inches over, to a small metal box.

The fire alarm went off.

Everyone screamed and ran for the exits, grabbing their kids along the way. Across the room, I saw Charlie and Mom headed toward me, and when I looked over, Indigo was gone. Ice-cold drops of sprinkler water pelted my skin and I tensed from the cold. In my fist, where the spoon had been, there was now a card with a phone number on it. Right then, I knew that everything had changed.

I would never be normal again.

Lauren will be awarding $30 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here


Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing OUT OF MY MIND. Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.



Social Networks:

Twitter: laurensabel
Instagram: laurensabel

OUT OF MY MIND:





VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD:




Tour Organised By: 

Goddess Fish Promotions 


12 comments:

  1. Sounds like a great read, thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. What is one interesting fact about you that readers don’t know?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great post- thanks for sharing the excerpt!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you so much for the giveaway! XO

    ReplyDelete
  5. What is the best joke that you have heard recently? Thanks for the giveaway. I hope that I won. Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Have an awesome, fun Wednesday and I appreciate you giving us the chance to win

    ReplyDelete
  8. thank you for this giveaway!
    The books sounds fun, exciting!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I really enjoyed reading the entire post, thank you!

    ReplyDelete