Search This Blog

Friday, 17 October 2014

REVIEW, BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY - End of Normal by S.C. Arscott



Sometimes what you think is normal, is anything but.




Told in the vein of Susan Pfeiffer’s LIFE AS WE KNOW IT and Courtney Summers’ THIS IS NOT A TEST, this new YA novel will appeal to fans of Sci-Fi both young and old. END OF NORMAL is now available at Amazon and Champagne Books. Get to know more about Susan in this exclusive letter to readers...

End of Normal


16-year-old Olivia Richards’ last day of normal is simply that, normal. She spends her entire pre-school morning dressing to impress gorgeous guy Sawyer Rising, the hottest guy in high school. She argues with her mother about her skinny jeans being too tight, which Olivia considers ridiculous because isn’t that the point of skinny jeans? Sometimes her mother makes no sense. Olivia’s normal world also includes her gentle astrophysicist father and her twin brother Charlie, who is deaf. Despite proclaiming that his deafness is no big deal, deep inside Olivia feels it is a big deal and that it’s her duty to protect him.



Olivia’s normal ends that night when strange lights shoot out of the sky and turn into stinging drones, killing their parents, or at least they think their parents die, but do they? Forced to flee, the twins join forces with friends Axel, Clara, and Sawyer, to search for answers to the strange invasion. Discovering a conspiracy to hide the location of a second earth, they search for a way to stop the destruction of their world.

 **** out of 5 (really liked it)


Olivia starts the day as an average teen, worrying about boys and pushing the boundaries her parents have given her - the 'skinnyness' of her jeans in this instance. It's a normal day at school and the evening looks to be like one of many. However, there is a beautiful meteor shower which draws the attention of everyone and that is when the nightmare begins.

This tale is cleverly woven using the right amount of teenage angst and general panic that you imagine would ensue in situation like this. I know that I probably wouldn't just shrug my shoulders and say "Oh well"! This is a Young Adult so everything in it is 'gentle' and consists of kisses and cuddles, nothing more although this is not a problem for me. Something that happens not long after chaos descends surprised me, enough so that it brought tears to my eyes. I cannot allow myself to believe that that part is done although I am concerned about a possible triangle in the future (I don't like them!) if what I want to believe is true. This was not the end of the shocks reading this book as they come one after the other.

The writing will take you along as it weaves and twists its tale. S.C. Arscott has done an amazing job with her story and the characters. They are not perfect, they have their flaws, but they are strong and consistent. The tale is only beginning so I recommend you read this one and then start waiting impatiently for the story to continue.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

$20 giftcard to Amazon or Barnes & Noble (winners choice)


SC Arscott


Susan worked as a high school teacher until she thought her head would explode from all the ideas and questions her students asked. Thinking it would be easier; she foolishly switched from teaching to the ridiculous job of professional fundraiser. After spending more years than she wants to admit begging strangers for money, she gathered what pride she had left and enrolled in Spalding University’s MFA program where she became blissfully happy working with other writers and improving her writing. She currently lives and writes in Seabrook, Texas with her husband Mike, Vlad the cat, and their deaf dog Chester.



My first YA novel, END OF NORMAL, will be available October 6, 2014 by Champagne Books and can be purchased through any online bookstore. I am in the process of developing a new, and much better website, but until it’s ready, you can check out my current, rather pitiful site. It has my bi-weekly blog and books I’m working on. My new site will be much better, so bookmark my web address and check back in a few weeks.



Connect with Susan at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest



 Keep up with the tour by stopping by one of these fabulous sites:

 


      Oct 6th ~ Corazones Literarios    

      Oct 7th ~ Coffee Books & Art     

      Oct 8th ~ Run with Jackabee     

      Oct 9th ~ Romance Junkies     

      Oct 10th ~ StoreyBook Reviews     

      Oct 13th ~ Indie Authors Books and More     

      Oct 14th ~ Literary Escapism    

      Oct 15th ~ Lulo Fangirl     

      Oct 16th ~ Living in a Bookworld     

      Oct 17th ~ Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books!     

      Oct 18th ~ Metro Detroit Mommy    

      Oct 24th ~ The Cover Contessa    

No comments:

Post a Comment